Excuses

Agree and big house rule.

Weird but often when I take full responsibilty for something, someone wants to make excuses for me! I have to repeat ‘it was my fault, not (whoever/whatever would be easy to blame)’. Not a joke, it’s very odd.

Grace and Candor

Image

Growing up in my neck of the woods, kids learned fast it would go better for them to tell the truth rather than make excuses and blame others. This served me well and in turn when I became a parent I taught my child the same principle.  Admit you did it, you made a mistake, and you will work on correcting it in the future.  Easy, right?  I have found if this value was not instilled in us from a young age it’s not so easy when left to our own devices.

As far back as the beginning of biblical man and woman we have been trying to make excuses and pass the blame.

God: “Hey, Adam, what ya doin with that fruit?”

Adam: “Yo, God, I didn’t want this fruit, that woman you gave me, she made me eat it.”

God: “Hello Eve, what are eating?”

Eve: “Oh…

View original post 889 more words

Leave a Reply

